Yarrabah is the traditional country of the Gunggandji and Yidinji people.
We are all Yarrabah people and we all belong here. Our strength is both cultural and historical.
Council works with community to build a united and empowered future.
Previous slide
Next slide

Our Home

Our people, our country, our history and future.


Meeting the needs of community.


Working with community to build a better quality of life.


Sharing and celebrating our stories.

“Thank you for allowing me to serve as your Mayor. Let’s shape a new shared history together.”

Read a Welcome Message from Mayor Ross Andrews

Check out the Yarrabah Community Newsletter published monthly by Council

Yarrabah News

Sharing Yarrabah’s stories

December 2021 – Yarrabah News


In this issue: Mayor’s message, December happenings, Covid19, Christmas At Work, Christmas Activities, Where are you for Christmas,... Read More → December 2021 – Yarrabah News

November 2021 – Yarrabah News


In this issue: Mayor’s message, November happenings, Achievements at Wugu Nyambil, U8’s Day, U8’s Day Gallery, Sports... Read More → November 2021 – Yarrabah News

October 2021 – Yarrabah News


In this issue: Mayor’s message, October happenings, School Projects, What’s Happening At Wugu Nyambil, Kindy On Country, Sports... Read More → October 2021 – Yarrabah News

September 2021 newsletter front page

September 2021 – Yarrabah News


In this issue: Mayor’s message, September happenings, Yarrabah Youth, Health, CDRL Gallery, Sports news, News from Council, Community... Read More → September 2021 – Yarrabah News


Bringing community together

There are currently no events.

Events celebrating culture and country.

Our Yarrabah Legends

Vincent (Charba) Schreiber

Yarrabah QFES volunteer

“SES and rural fire is all about volunteering. Volunteering your time even during work hours and even after work hours, you are volunteering. You know you are doing something good for the community, you are not doing it for your family you are not doing it for your friends, you are doing it for the community.” Vincent Schreiber.

Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council

Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council fosters unity, respect for elders, celebrate courage, facilitate connection, refine for efficiency and acknowledge equality and govern with integrity.

Acknowledgement of Country

The Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council (YASC) wishes to acknowledge the traditional owners of the land within the shire boundaries – the Gunggandji and Yidinji peoples; and the area agreements developed through previous negotiations that provide clear opportunities and processes for traditional owners to be formally involved in the land planning process.

The Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council also wishes to acknowledge the historical people brought here to Yarrabah from various locations by government policies of the past.

Close Search Window